MARY OCHER – The West Against The People – SPECIAL EDITION

Release #: 
25,00 €

Special Edition – Limited to 150 copies – Includes poster + Film + Further Tracks

1. Firstling II
2. To The Light (feat. Your Government)
3. Zah Zah: Part I (feat. Your Government)
4. My Executioner (feat. Your Government)
5. Authority's Hold (feat. Your Government)
6. The Irrevocable Temple of Knowledge
7. Arms
8. To The Light (piano vr)
9. The Endlessness (Song For Young Xenophobes)
10. Washed Upon Your Shores
11. The Becoming (with Die Tödliche Doris)
12. Zah Zah: Part II
13. Wulkania (with Felix Kubin)

Berlin psychedelic pop craftswoman and experimental vocalist, Mary Ocher returns with an all-encompassing new album, her darkest yet, in times of confusion. It is a document on social indignation and the deconstruction of our identities as citizens.

‘The West Against The People’ produced with Hans Joachim Irmler (of Faust) is Mary's fifth full length release, and second on Krautrock veteran's label Klangbad. The new recordings feature tracks with her two drummers, Your Government, as well as collaborations with avant-garde legends Die Tödliche Doris, Felix Kubin and Julia Kent (of Rasputina / Anthony and The Johnsons).

Ocher's own culturally diverse background, political stance and radical lifestyle choices have contributed to much of the interest in her work and sense of adventure, in life as well as art. Her essay ‘The West Against The People’ expands on the themes of the album and the social preface to it.

Ranging from traditional folk and raw 60s garage, hints of early industrial music, ambient with ethereal vocals and abstract synths, to experimental pop with African and South American rhythms – Its narrative drawing on bodies, being washed upon the sand in a first person proclamation, to jungle flavoured exotic grooves, with a human voice turning into a bird turning back into a human, merging with poetry and wordplay - this is a truly complex jam of a record, covering a spectacular musical landscape, building on Ocher's existing rich musical heritage. ’The West Against The People’ is a cohesive but astonishingly wide ranging work from a powerful artist, musician and song-writer.